Rugby World Cup Winners List (1987-2019)

Are you seeking the complete Rugby World Cup winners list from 1987 – 2019? You’ve come to the right page. The Rugby World Cup began its journey in 1987, and it happens after every four years. South Africa is the current champion of the Rugby World Cup.

Now let’s short discuss the RWC Winners from start to end

List of Rugby World Cup Winners (1987-2019):

1987: New Zealand – New Zealand both hosted and won the first-ever Rugby World Cup, kick-starting an eventful legacy.

1991: Australia – In 1991 the Wallabies bagged their first Webb Ellis Cup, outplaying England in the finale.

Watch Rugby World Cup live

1995: South Africa – 1995 was a historic year for South Africa. Hosting the tournament at the end of the apartheid era, the Springboks claimed their first title.

1999: Australia – The Wallabies again showed the world their might, seizing their second Rugby World Cup in 1999.

2003: England – Breaking the Southern Hemisphere’s winning streak, England bagged their first Webb Ellis Cup in 2003, making them the sole Northern Hemisphere team to win so far.

2007: South Africa – South Africa grabbed their second title in 2007, leveling with Australia in the number of Cup wins.

2011: New Zealand – The All Blacks marked their territory at home in 2011, holding up their second Webb Ellis Cup high.

2015: New Zealand – They didn’t stop there! The All Blacks dominated again in 2015, achieving a consecutive win and earning their third World Cup.

2019: South Africa – In 2019, the Springboks added another feather to their cap, securing their third title and tying with New Zealand for the most Rugby World Cup victories.

Rugby World Cup Winners
No:# EventYearWinnerRunner-UpScore
92019South AfricaEngland32−12
82015New ZealandAustralia34-17
72011New ZealandFrance8-7
62007South AfricaEngland15-6
31995South AfricaNew Zealand15-12
11987New ZealandFrance29-9

Final Words:

The Rugby World Cup is much more than a tournament. It celebrates sportsmanship, teamwork, and the global rugby community.

The Roll of honor from 1987 to 2019 is a testament to this sport’s intense competition and high standards.

As we await the thrill of the upcoming Rugby World Cups, we can’t help but wonder, who will be the next team to etch their name in the glorious history of the Rugby World Cup? Let’s wait and see!


When and where did the first Rugby World Cup take place?

The inaugural Rugby World Cup was held in 1987 in New Zealand.

Which team took home the trophy in the first Rugby World Cup?

The New Zealand All Blacks won the first Rugby World Cup in 1987.

How many times has the Australian team won the Rugby World Cup?

Australia has two Rugby World Cup victories, one in 1991 and another in 1999.

Which teams hold the record for the most Rugby World Cup titles?

New Zealand and South Africa are tied for the most victories, with three Rugby World Cup titles each.

Has a team from the Northern Hemisphere ever won the Rugby World Cup?

Yes, England clinched the Rugby World Cup in 2003, making them the only team from the Northern Hemisphere to win as of 2019.

Which team was crowned champion in the 2019 Rugby World Cup?

South Africa, also known as the Springboks, emerged as champions in the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

How frequently is the Rugby World Cup held?

The Rugby World Cup is a quadrennial event held every four years.

Who is the Webb Ellis Cup named after?

The Webb Ellis Cup, awarded to the winners of the Rugby World Cup, is named after William Webb Ellis, often credited with inventing rugby.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *